Skip this post if you hate dogs. Or joy. (It’s kind of the same difference.)

Dog is love. That was the text on a bumper sticker I used to have on my car, back before the bumper sticker material flaked off in the sun and also – y’know – I totalled the car. Goodbye, whimsical, dog-related bumper sticker (and bumper, and side door, and front left wheel, and, and, and…) Hello, all these other REALLY AWESOME dog-related things!

P.S. Don’t worry, you don’t have to read these all right now. I will save these treasures of the internet for you right here until you have time for a little snippet of puppy-pleasure. I’ll even serenade them to keep them from being lonely, like Ariel in the cave with her fork…

…no, let’s be honest, I probably won’t do that.

 1. By way of greeting you to this post:

2. I really freaking love dogs. I have three of them, and they’re all special. Not special like, “Oh, Princess, you’re the most special-est cherry on top of my Cherpumple Pie,” but more like, “Oh… honey.” Hence, I was delighted to find my life with dogs translated into glorious, pixelated comedy by Allie Brosh at Hyperbole and a Half. She’s created a series of three stories about her “Simple Dog” and each one is more absurdly fantastic than the last. Please give your life some meaning and read:

Dog

Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving

and

Wild Animal (The Simple Dog Goes for a Joy Ride)

3. Now let’s take a break from all those WORDS and enjoy some dogs wearing boots.

4. Oh, man! Can you take any more? Yes? I knew you could! (I think I’d make a good personal trainer.) Anyway, here is Matthew Inman from The Oatmeal with a simultaneously grimace-inducing and heart-warming comic about his weird pup.

5. And, finally, the thing all of our dogs really want us to know (even when we’re annoying them about it and shoving cameras in their faces):

6. Yes, they love us. Unconditionally and ferociously. Joyfully and eternally. And that’s why dogs rock. Especially this saucy minx:

Got a problem with that?

7 responses to “Skip this post if you hate dogs. Or joy. (It’s kind of the same difference.)

  1. I so enjoy reading your blog….it makes me think (sometimes in new and different ways); it makes me smile and often, it just makes me giggle out loud like I’m a kid again and that’s awesome!! Keep up the good work. You’re doing a terrific job!

  2. Funny post – I too love dogs (well, all animals actually). We have 2 cats and a dog – all rescues. If we had more resources, we’d probably save every animal we run across. lol. Anyway, thanks for reading/following my blog!

  3. This is a hilarious post. I clicked over here when I saw that you followed me. Given all the fantom followers, I nearly didn’t, but I am so glad I did. I have over the years tried to put boots on each of my dogs. Unsuccesssfully. Next dog I will try harder because the results are priceless.

    Nice to meet you!

    • Nice to meet you, too! I’m so glad you clicked over. I saw your post, “Test Your Co-workers!” and the content (plus that ever-so-dryly-humorous exclamation mark in the title) won me right over. 🙂

      If you ever get boots onto your pets’ feet, please for the love of dog make a video and share.

      • So far they have only eaten them. But we’ll see. You have at least made me want to keep trying.

        And I may borrow your film — and refer back to you. Gotta share the dog lovers.

What do you think?

