“Liebster” means “dearest” in German

…I hope Google is right about that translation, or I certainly will look foolish.

In the vein of it never raining but it pours, the lovely/witty/candid Sarah at Sarah’s Brand New Chapter has passed a Liebster Award to me. I love adding pretty things to my sidebar, so I’m happy to answer her questions. Plus, she titled them thusly: “And Finally, My 11 Insightful Questions That Took Forever to Write So PLEASE Answer Them.” So. I’m gonna.

But first, I’d like to expand a bit on why you should go follow Sarah’s blog before you read my mindless ramblings: 1) she posts very honestly about hair-shedding problems in shared bathrooms, 2) she has used the phrase, “Books were my saviors,” and 3) she writes so enticingly about queso that Cabot Cheese gave her an un-asked-for goodie bag. Baller!

But back to me. Unfortunately, being relatively new to WordPress, I pretty much used up my reservoir of awesome bloggers with less than 200 followers in last week’s post about the Versatile Blogger Award. So… I’m going to allow myself to be lame this time around and not pay this award forward, because I just don’t know who could use a dollar. And after all, a dollar still buys you a pack of chewing gum, and I had tuna for lunch.

Let’s do this.

Sarah’s 11 Insightful Questions That Took Forever to Write So PLEASE Answer Them:

1. What got you started blogging in the first place? How long have you been blogging?

Gremlins. I blog because of gremlins. I’ve been at it for a whopping 39 days.

But seriously, I blog here because it’s incredibly fulfilling to receive feedback on my writing; I love the half-amazingly-stocked-bookstore, half-wacky-coffee-shop-on-open-mic-night vibe, and it’s pretty great to have a platform for sharing thoughts on my pet social issues.

2. Tell me what your ideal vacation would be like.

My man. Italy. Done.

3. Who are two famous people who are currently dead that you wish weren’t? Why?

Famous people, shmamous people. I want to bring back movie characters who got offed too soon!

1) Wash from Serenity (his death broke my adult heart):

2) Artax from The NeverEnding Story (his death made kiddie Jennie understand that there is darkness in the world, and I actually can’t bring myself to embed the video here because re-watching even the first 15 seconds made me cry, but – for all the emotional masochists out there – you’ll find it here):

4. I say, “Chocolate.” You say “_____________”?

I have 60 pounds of it in my coat closet. You think I’m kidding. I used to make truffles and caramels and sell them at a Saturday market. One benefit of this endeavor is closets full of endless chocolate (even after you close the business because working 80-hour weeks is insanity).

5. Name at least one person who has made you who you are today.

Chuck Sullivan, my poetry teacher in the summer of 2002 at North Carolina Governor’s School East. He doesn’t know it, but he’s one of my life-long heroes. He gave me the freedom to write about anything I wanted – no topic was too foolish. Here’s a magical sample of his work:

“Let us be acoustic of dream

Let heaven be and hell only seem

Let B.B. King’s wailing chords be keen

the only emperors alive are you and me

psalmed in sin and magic from the first breath

we sing stung by the honeyed arrow of the blues

confessing blind faith in the Midnight Hour

our words in search of the tune”

 And my parents. Always my parents.

6. What is your pick-me-up song after a bad day?

7. If you were on death row and had a last meal request, what would it be?

Urgh. What a horrible thought. I’d try and swing subbing my last meal for a last kiss, and bring in J for a final burst of make-out glory.

8. What is your favorite article of clothing?

The amazingly patterned “gle-du-rrah” dress that my friend sent to me from Cameroon. It looks a lot like these:

Bright colors and baggy fabric for miles… so comfortable (and so very unflattering, but whatevs).

9. If you were President, what would be your first order of business?

No levity here: if I had that kind of power, I’d do my damned best to push for equality of basic human rights for every citizen of my country (I’m especially thinking of celebrating folks of diverse sexualities and all women having access to affordable and comprehensive reproductive health care).

10. “Party like it’s 1999!” What was going on in your life that year?

Oh, crikey. I was 15. What wasn’t going on in my life (at least in my opinion)? I was driving with my Learner’s Permit, forcing my Maltese dog Oliver to boogie board against his will, and was thoroughly convinced that dating my then-boyfriend was the pinnacle of all I’d ever accomplish. (Gack.)

11. Who is your favorite Lord of the Rings character? (And if you haven’t seen it, go and do that ASAP, fool.)

Arwen. How can I resist her?

12 responses to ““Liebster” means “dearest” in German

  1. i’m going to need a little more information about the interjection “Baller!”

    did you just make that up? is it a regional expression? are you going to be terribly upset when you notice that ive heisted it?

    • I most definitely stole it from some corner of pop culture. Ball away! (It’s always thrilling when my cheesy exclamations are considered worth ganking. Ganking – there’s another of my favorites!)

  2. Jennie, you are too sweet. And I’m more than willing to give you pretty things to put on your sidebar. Arwen is basically amazing; a strong, sexy elf-lady who knows what she wants and does what she needs to do for those she loves.

    Thanks for answering those questions; I loved learning more about you!

  3. I agree with you, bring back Wash! Talk about being sidelined, his death was a spinning back kick to the throat (too specific?) 😛
    Congratulations on the award, well deserved.

    • Oh, thank you thank you! “Absolutely favorite blog” made me go, “Squee!” because I don’t think I’m the absolute favorite *anything* of too many people outside my mom and my main man. 🙂

      High praise indeed, coming from a sassy, thoughtful woman like you.

What do you think?

