Mom, I promise this isn’t actually about you.

My father says
If there were any justice in the world
He would have been born the son of an Alaskan trapper.
Would have learned early to track lynx through the snow.
Would have stayed young of body
And grown old of soul
Through a life-preserving yearly ritual
Of chopping wood and
Smoking meat for winter stores.
.
My mother, now, she says
If the world had been made right
She’d have come of age in Paris,
Sole heiress
To a fortune.
The only lynx in her life
Lying dead about her shoulders;
The only stores of concern
Being Chanel and Dior.
.
I imagine
In Alaska
My mother’s perfume would attract bears.
Then silently wish
We could move there and find out.
17 responses to “Mom, I promise this isn’t actually about you.

    • Thank you! It’s been a very long time since I wrote poetry regularly, but every now and then something just wells up. And yes, the title is less a real title (because crafting those stresses me out beyond belief) and more of a nipping-disaster-in-the-bud, since my lovely mother follows my blog.

      • I have never been able to write poetry, so I always admire those that can and still keep me interested! My mother reads mine as well, so I fully understand. And I’m glad I’m not the only one that hates coming up with titles. It worked for this post!

  1. Pingback: Praise from Caesar – The Dilettante Edition, June 15, 2013 | Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat, Dilettante.·

  2. This is the best poem/blog post title I’ve ever heard.

    And the poem wasn’t half bad either πŸ˜‰

    P.S. – I’m totally addicted to those whispering vids.

    • Ha! An (fictional) snarky line about Thanksgiving dinners and families got really out of control one year. I have learned to clearly define the line between reality and imagined things for my mamacita.

      P.S. That makes me really weirdly giddy.

  3. This is really cool, Jennie — I didn’t realize you wrote poetry, and now here there’s two poems that are just… just excellent. This one’s especially smart and well-crafted. I enjoyed it very much.

  4. Young of body and old of soul… yet more great imagery from you, Miss Jennie. I continue to be impressed by your skills.

What do you think?

