I Like A Girl Who Reads

Ladies (and gentlemen), please allow me to introduce you to one of the sexiest men alive: Mark Grist.

“Hello there. Is that a book in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”

Why does Mark deserve this title? He’s a teacher, a poet, and a general bad ass. He lies right on the line between rap battles and board games. (He’s excellent at both; check his web site for the proof!) Most of all, he likes smart women and writes poems in their honor.

If you watch one video today, make it this one. This is some seriously stellar spoken word. I’ll be playing it for my someday children as an example of the kind of partner worth seeking out. It’s got reading, love, and even some T&A! If that’s still not enough to draw you in, I’ll give you a little preview:

“So, what do you go for in a girl?”
He crows, lifting a lager to his lips
Gestures where his mate sits
Downs his glass
“He prefers tits
I prefer ass.
What do you go for in a girl?”

I don’t feel comfortable
The air left the room a long time ago
All eyes are on me
Well, if you must know

I like a girl who reads

**sigh**

23 responses to “I Like A Girl Who Reads

    • Talk about one of the good ones, right?!

      When he mentioned reading the back of the cereal box, I laughed out loud. I do that often, and to imagine someone appreciating that little quirk… that’s the stuff “sexy” is made of!

      • I heard the best line from a stand up comedian once, who said that “Women are always saying they want an outdoors-y type with a sense of humour (with a u) Of course, if you combine these two, you get a rodeo clown, and they’re Hepatitis A & B positive.”
        I’m just bummed because the man I’ve been stalking turns out to have a family.

        • Helena,

          That sucks. It really does.

          Since I am definitely not well-equipped to give advice, let me try humo(u)r! See, I *do* care – I even threw in the damn “u,” just this once. A desirable man having a family already made me think of Alanis and “Isn’t It Ironic” – which led me down a rabbit hole to this:

          …which is funny for about 15 seconds. It’s all I’ve got. At least you’re not forced to sing slowly about humps in an attempt to remain relevant!

    • Oh, I am in love with this. Off to share it with everyone! Especially the last bit:

      “Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable. If you can only give her monotony, and stale hours and half-baked proposals, then you’re better off alone. If you want the world and the worlds beyond it, date a girl who reads.”

      Thank you!

    • Yes! And he quit teaching full-time to tour lots of schools leading poetry workshops, which is amazing. Following your passion = huge lady-boner for me.

What do you think?

