A New Perspective

This was the introductory post I wrote at The Outlier Collective when I joined Le Clown and Madame Weebles to manage the project. I’m re-printing it here (eight months after the event) because TOC is now – sadly – defunct.

__________________________________

Hi. I’m Jennie.

Did you know that “Jenny” is another name for a female donkey? True fact. And as soon as I could speak, I promptly became just as stubborn as my namesake.

Yes!

No!

Always!

Never!

Hee-HAW!

Somewhere along the way, I grew tired of the sound of my own voice. I realized how much I didn’t know, and listened for a while. I heard things that angered me, and became politically active in response. I heard things that enlightened me, and learned how to emotionally separate ideas I held onto out of stubbornness from ideas that make me who I am.

I started my blog, Tip of My Tongue, as a place to work through these complexities. As people read and responded, sometimes bolstering and sometimes challenging my opinions, I began to look to that discussion as a way of honing my worldview. With every reaction to my thoughts, it became clear that – especially in Blogland – we don’t live in a vacuum. Words matter. We are responsible for what we write. And, as my friend Le Clown is fond of saying: “We are writing the internet.”

In that vein, Le Clown and Madame Weebles have invited me to help crew the good ship Outlier Collective. I’ll be working with them to select interesting topics, find guest bloggers, and continue to host a haven of real, intelligent, reasonable discussion amid the flotsam and sea monsters of the internet.

As the newest crew member, allow me to welcome you aboard. Let us know if you have something to share. And – if you’re debating the worth of your point of view – I’m here to remind you to never underestimate the importance of your perspective. Perspectives is the tag line of this blog for a reason. As Anaïs Nin said:

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.”

I’m Jennie. Who are you?

7 responses to “A New Perspective

What do you think?

