April Really IS the Cruelest Month

I’m aliiiiiiiive! (Note that I did not say perky, or energized, or feeling especially upbeat. But I am persistently alive, despite what my absence from Blogland has led some of you to believe.)

Here’s the scoop: Someone I love very much went to the emergency room this Monday at 6pm, and I was with her until they got her settled in a hospital room (at 5am). She’s still there, and she’ll be just fine – and I’m immensely thankful – but that’s just one of the things going on this week.

She’s usually the full-time caregiver for someone else who I love, and he’s needed errands run and car trips made (he doesn’t drive) and of course he’s wanted to visit her, so there are those ongoing logistics.

And you know our house is on the market and when it rains, it pours, so we’ve had two showings so far this week – and I’m immensely thankful – but when they come in the middle of the day with just two hours’ notice, they necessitate mad dashes from work to tidy the house and scoop up the dogs.

Did I mention that my department’s largest conference of the year happens next week?

Did I mention that I haven’t been sleeping because we’re still making last-minute improvements to the house?

Did I mention that – despite all this – I read something today that completely resonated with me? Tracy Fulks posted this on Facebook:

I have learned and EARNED the capability and empowerment to stand exactly where I am, and know that it is perfectly where I’m supposed to be. This allows for the ability to turn every fiber of my being into a grateful smile. Life is a roller coaster, sit up front and put your fucking hands in the air people.

When I read that, I was forced to take a deep breath and think, “Yep, this week is sheer madness… but I wouldn’t wish away any of the people, animals, careers, or dreams causing the complications.” And where does that leave me? Ideally situated to find beauty in the chaos. So, in that vein, I present something I’ve been saving up for y’all – the totally official, very real Unicorn Questing License. You’ll like this (from Lake Superior State University):

The late W.T. (Bill) Rabe, known for his clever PR stunts from his days as a Detroit-area publicist, created the Unicorn Hunters in 1971, shortly after he was hired as LSSU’s Director of Public Relations. Bill […] came up with the Hunters as a way of garnering more publicity for LSSU, which had just established itself as an independent school… The Unicorn Hunters made the news often for activities and events including: the annual List of Words Banished from the Queen’s English for Mis-Use, Over-Use and General Uselessness, burning a snowman on the first day of spring, World Sauntering Day, [and] the International Stone-Skipping Tournament held annually on Mackinac Island…

Business leaders might say Bill ‘leveraged’ (a word banished in 2001) the Unicorn Hunters in a big way. The group’s activities […] attracted the attention of news media everywhere. Bill once had an ABC News crew on campus to film students in their quest for unicorns.

Understand that being a Unicorn Hunter is not to be taken lightly! There is a very firm list of Hunting Regulations, including:

  • AREASOPENTOQUESTERS:
    1. Earth
    2. Moon (unexplored areas only)
    3. Milky Way (SE Rim is closed odd years)
    4. All else
  • BAG LIMITS. Only one Unicorn per month. A success ratio higher than this often results in a form of euphoria, which of course requires a mental truss. This is highly undesirable.
  • APPROVED QUESTING DEVICES.Unicornsmay be taken with:
    1. Serious Intent
    2. Iambic Pentameter
    3. General levity
    4. Sweet talk

How are your weeks going, friends? Are you going to print and post your Unicorn Questing Licenses? Let me know.

45 responses to “April Really IS the Cruelest Month

  1. Hooray, you’re alive! I’m glad you’ve been able to find things to be thankful for in the chaos — it’s a difficult thing to do!

  2. Wow, what a busy week! It sounds like you have a great attitude about the chaos. I’m glad to hear that your friend is doing well.

  3. Thanks for the scoop. We’ve all been wondering. I’m sorry about the ordeal. 11 hours was it? Isn’t our healthcare system a wonder? So the caregiver got sick?! That’s whack.

    Despite my years of exposure to it [I am, in fact, seeing As You Like It this very evening!] I still don’t understand iambic pentameter. I stopped trying a year or two ago. Take care. Steady as she goes.

  4. Woohoo, you’re alive Jennie. As always you were missed, but we all understand these weeks from hell … you just gotta put your hands in the air and survive/enjoy the ride! πŸ™‚ ~Terri

    • I just keep thinking how much more complex it would all be with young kids… but I guess you’d just have to view it as more loved ones whooping on the roller coaster!

    • Thanks! Today I totally stalked the buyer, sitting with the pups in my car in a spot down the street. He wore a light pink button-up, and I have no idea if that’s a good or bad omen. (Nothing is neutral in house buying! Except the walls. Always the “neutral” wall colors.)

  5. I’m glad you are all right. Sometimes I don’t know if someone has gone missing or if they are taking a break or if WP is having spasms. Or sometimes I just get so busy I have to let the blogs go.

  6. Jennie, there you are! I thought I’d unfollowed you or something, phew! Unicorn hunting hey…hmm, I wonder what they taste like. Just jokes!! We don’t have Unicorns where I’m from, everything here has either teeth or stings and wants to kill you, I don’t think they’d last very long, rainbow farts notwithstanding. Welcome back, Lovely.

    • You better not! …I have no threat to follow that up with – you’re too sweet to threaten. Plus you’d just laugh.

      My bet is that unicorns taste like Swedish Fish, but less chewy. I wonder if the sparkles get caught in your teeth?

  7. I’m so glad about your friend. If you are not on the blog, I can always find you on twitter. πŸ™‚ Is that stalkery? Ha.

  8. JENNIE!! YAY! So so glad to see you back. And Tracy, she is one lady I’d like to wife, inspiring, and what a fucking reminder are her words. Here’s to having our hands in the air! Much love xxx

  9. This is pretty much me this week, too. Doing a tour of hospitals around my state, and various errands and family matters to see it. All with increasing anxiety about my absence in the blogosphere. It’s nice to know we all have these moments (and none of us can know what’s really going on behind the scenes). Don’t sweat it. Take a breath, as you did. And thank you for the reminder that we are exactly where we need to be. Today. All the best to you and your friend.

    • I keep telling myself: it’s good to be missed, and I’m glad my blog friends tell me they want to see me back online, but honestly, no one except me is really stressing about me not writing. Thank goodness there’s no one feeling desperate for another line from me! (I can’t imagine the pressure George R. Martin is under.) πŸ˜‰

  10. Jennie, I’m so sorry to hear that someone in your life had to go to the ER. Yikes. Scary, and disruptive, and icky all around. I’m very glad to read that she will be okay, but grr – what a process.

    And yikes, the insanity only continued!

    And yet, when I read Tracy’s Facebook post, I *immediately* smiled. What a powerful set of statements (and shared with a terrific stern-yet-joyfilled delivery); awesome.

    Yes, life can get messy. Yes, life can get complicated. Yes, life can invite some anxiety into one’s otherwise happily predictable routines. And yet, it’s because we have choices, options, and relationships that we can experience some of these messes, complications, and stresses (which you so elegantly and eloquently stated as well). So KUDOS to you for recognizing your blessings amid the insanity – but here’s also to letting the insanity drop to a dull roar in the not-so-distant future. πŸ™‚

    • You nailed it – it’s disruptive! That’s the perfect word. And as much as I love change, I’m realizing I only enjoy change implemented by my own design. Clearly, the universe is trying to teach me to laugh at myself. πŸ™‚

      She came home on Friday night. Sunday, I was able to read and practice yoga in the sun. I have two house showings today, but those are very welcome, so… I’d say we’re down to dull roar status, and in the very near future I think the road might just sound pleasant, like ocean waves. πŸ™‚

  11. Whew! When it rains. It pours, or so the saying goes. Kudos to you for handling this all with such a positive, healthy outlook. There is no room in your schedule for sickness or mass hysteria (thank goodness). Wishing you all the best in your house selling pursuits! Know that you are not alone in the frenzied feeling of frantic cleaning and thoughts like: “Did I leave underwear on the floor?”

    • Ha! Yes, I keep thinking that the anal cleaning habits we are being forced to acquire would be good ones to keep going in our new place…

      But let’s be honest. There’s always going to be underwear on the floor. πŸ™‚

  12. UGH. I’ve had weeks like that, gurl. I don’t envy you, but I think your attitude is great and I love that quote up there. So so true, and very inspiring.

    No matter how bad shit gets, I always remind myself how much worse it could be. Keeps me in check. And I smile. A lot. πŸ™‚

    Glad your friend is okay, and good luck with the house and work stuff! Wave those hands in the air!! You can do eeeeeet. Lol

What do you think?

